Has anything been more annoying in baseball this season than the new interpretation of the transfer rule? We’ve had pine tar issues, catchers can’t block the plate, and replays galore.
However, the most universally hated “new rule” has been the interpretation of the transfer rule. Essentially, after a player catches a ball – whether it be turning a double play or catching a fly ball – when he takes it out of his glove to throw it, if he drops the ball, the play is safe.
It goes against everything every single baseball player has ever been taught starting from the days of Little League.
The ball is caught. It’s in the glove. That moment should have registered as an out. That’s not the case anymore, and a number of teams have been hit hard by this new rule. The New York Yankees benefitted from it in Thursday night’s game against the Boston Red Sox. In the second inning, Brian Roberts hit a ball to Boston third baseman Brock Holt who threw it to Dustin Pedroia in hopes of turning a double play. Pedroia got the ball, put his hand in the glove but dropped it on the transfer.
Everyone was safe.
On the next play, a wild pitch moved up the two runners. Then, Yangervis Solarte hit a two-run double. Yankees scored three runs that inning.
MLB’s gamecenter ruled it a missed catch, but it wasn’t so much of a missed catch as just a bad transfer from a caught ball to his throwing hand. This story has gained national attention as many people have concluded that the new rule is change is just silly. Infielders, especially, are taught to get rid of the ball quickly to turn a double play. Some of infielders even learn as children with foam pads to ram home the idea that the ball should spend little time inside the glove.
Fox Sports’ Ken Rosenthal recently reported that MLB and MLBPA are likely to adjust this rule. In the meantime, we will all just have to forget what we know about baseball.